Update

I cannot believe a whole month has passed since I last posted! February was a very busy month, with a MugaScan, oncologist appointment and two infusions of Herceptin. I was at my preferred center for this MugaScan. The staff are nice and seem to be more self-assured than at the center where the vein collapsed.

The oncologist said that my heart is okay. In May, she will order another MugaScan – the last one! Then in May, the final Herceptin infusion.

I finally thought to ask her what stage was the breast cancer, when I was diagnosed. It was at Stage 1.

She gave me a prescription for Tamoxifen, and seemed rather surprised that I wasn’t *already on it*. Don’t know when I was supposed to be started on it. I am on 20 mg per day, and with a meal. She says some people get nauseous so food with the pill is recommended. I’ve had no side effects so far. Some of them can be quite scary. I will be taking it for five years.

She also said that 3 hours of exercise per week is best. Or more. She did not know why, at the information session, the leader had said to exercise 3 times per week, for 30 minutes, no more and no less. So I have the go ahead to use my treadmill and weight machine more often. I am glad, as I’ve been putting on some weight. The increased exercise should help with that.

I have just one Herceptin infusion in March, two in April and that last one in May. I also have a mammogram booked in May, the first since all this started last year.

It has been a long time, with so many appointments, and I will be looking forward to summer, and some free time.

 

