Subcutaneous Port

On Wednesday, May 15, I had a port placed in my chest. This was recommended by my medical oncologist, as I will have 18 IVs over the next year.

I was told to not eat or drink anything for six hours prior to the surgery. I found this odd, since it was going to be a local anesthetic, but followed instructions.

There is a good explanation of  the subcutaneous port at http://www.cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/diagnosis-and-treatment/tests-and-procedures/subcutaneous-port/

I arrived at the hospital, where a volunteer took me to the department where the surgery would be done. There was only a few minutes’ wait, until I was led to a room to change into a gown and shown to a bed. The nurse inserted an IV into my arm and my husband was called in to wait with me, until the surgery.

I was wheeled into the operating room, and covered up with a warm blanket while the nurses made preparations. I was asked if I wanted some sedation – I said, “No, I think I am alright”.

When I was told I would have my head covered while the procedure was being done, I changed my mind! I began to feel nervous, and I asked if it was possible to have the sedation after all. I was told, “Yes,” and it helped, so I’d recommend it, if you are offered sedation. Since the procedure was under local anesthetic, one is awake.

The local anesthetic was given, tiny pin pricks that did not hurt. The doctor put in the port. It took about an hour, although I did not notice that long a passage of time, likely due to the sedation.

After, I was wheeled out and brought to the Recovery floor. The room was cozy, and there was a television, so I was able to watch “The Young and the Restless”, my favorite soap. My blood pressure and temperature was checked every 15 minutes or so, and after 2 hours I was able to dress and come home.
Regarding the incisions, I was told to only have sponge baths for 5 days. Then to remove the tape, leaving the gauze in place. It will fall off in about 10 days they said.

The pain has not been bad, especially compared to the lumpectomy and sentinel node biopsy incisions.

Last Wednesday, the 22nd, we attended a free Chemotherapy information class at the Cancer Center and were shown to one of the treatment rooms.

Today I have an appointment with the medical oncologist, in preparation for the first chemotherapy treatment on Monday.

I will post again after that.

Does this information help you? Please leave a comment if you have any questions and I will try to answer if I can.

 

