The Next Two Weeks Are Booked….

2

 

Now things begin to get hectic for a bit.

On Monday, I am booked for a MUGA scan (heart scan).  I’ve been told it will take about two hours. It will be repeated every 3 months, since Herceptin may cause heart problems.

On Wednesday they will be inserting the port. It will take 60 minutes, followed by 2 hours in Recovery.

On Friday, I need to have everyday prescriptions renewed so that means a visit to the family doctor. In the afternoon, I have an appointment at a shop and spa which specializes in cancer patients. I will be fitted for, and purchase a wig. Our health care plan covers part of the cost. The salon also sells eyebrow kits, which I think is a great idea. If I am going to lose my eyebrows, may as well have a solution to that too.

The following week is a chemotherapy information class, and another appointment with the medical oncologist. She told me, at the first appointment, that I will get medications prescribed for nausea (and pain as well, I think).

Then – May 27th is the “Big Day”. The first of the 4 chemotherapy treatments.

And guess what? In the past few days, I’ve been working on getting a desktop computer ready to take to my retired mother-in-law. She’s been using a laptop which is too old to run her favorite email software, so I refurbished my old, old desktop computer for her. So this means an hour long drive one way, to deliver it to her. It will be good, though, to get away, and just visit for a while, before ‘it’ all starts.

 

 

